Archived OUF Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Project Update 6: Moving on

+2
Jacan Na'al
Jeme'Maer
6 posters

Go down

Project Update 6: Moving on Empty Project Update 6: Moving on

Post  Guest Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:02 am

Moving on
Here's my dilemma: 3D modeling seemed a lot easier and quicker to pick-up than it really is. I've spent a lot of time on learning Blender and it's tools and really do not have much to show for it. So, with great dismay and a lot of relief, I am moving on with this project.

I don't have months to spend on creating intricate assets, although, I wish I did. This project serves two purposes: One it's a fun project that the community can get involved in and have a lot of fun with. Secondly it also serves as my senior project, due December 2010. Since the due date is approaching and my degree is based mostly on programming I'm making the call to cease all modeling operations and move into actual game mechanics (at least as far as my efforts go).

For now I will be using any and all free models I can find to fill in for the lack of game art and later when the game is wrapping up I'll devote my time to replacing those place holders with nicer models. Either way, this project has got to get moving and I can't afford to be stalled out on game art. It's just not that important right now.

The game has been fully written, and, for the exception of some dialogue and finer level design layouts in the later levels, the game has a "working" mold. (Believe me, I've got a stack of papers here with sketches and notes, etc.) It's time to get knee deep in code and start modifying this engine to meet the needs of the game. Sound, 3D models, etc are taking a back seat to gameplay and mechanics.

Sneak Peek